How do I follow #COP27 from Australia?

Here is a list of the climate change and health-related events which will be hosted online, most of which are publicly accessible. Plus, we've thrown in some Australian-focused events.

Be aware that the time difference is a little brutal, but many hosts will send you a recording when the event is finished.

Have we missed an event? Email [email protected]

Wed 16 Nov

Natured-based climate solutions for human health

IUCN, WHO and the Friends of EbA
2pm EET // 11pm AEDT
Watch the livestream here

Thu 17 Nov

CAHA live from COP27

CAHA's Policy and Advocacy Manager, Arthur Wyns will be on the ground at COP27. Join Arthur online to hear about what's going on, and what it means for our health.

Climate and Health Alliance
9am EET // 6pm AEDT
Register here

Responding to climate disasters: Perspectives from emergency medicine

In this session, emergency clinicians and organisations will highlight their experiences in caring for patients with climate-sensitive conditions and vulnerable groups impacted by the climate crisis.

University of Colorado School of Medicine
5pm EET // 2am AEDT (Fri 18 Nov)
Watch the livestream here

Fri 18 Nov

Financing for health justice: the health community’s role in delivering loss, damage & reparations

Climate Operation, Race & Health, University College London, University of São Paulo and Youth Advocates for Climate Action Philippines
11.30am EET // 8.30pm AEDT

Watch the livestream here


Other resources

Twitter accounts to follow

Hashtags to follow

  • #HealthyCOP27

Past events

Mon 7 Nov

Webinar: CAHA live from COP27

CAHA's Policy and Advocacy Manager, Arthur Wyns will be on the ground at COP27. Join Arthur online to hear about what's going on, and what it means for our health.

Climate and Health Alliance
9am EET // 6pm AEDT
Register here

Tue 8 Nov

Loss and damage: The latest insights

New York Times: Climate Forward
11.50am EET // 8.50pm AEDT
Register here

We can’t breathe: Respecting human rights in a changing climate

New York Times: Climate Forward
12.45pm EET // 9.45pm AEDT
Register here

The missing link: The intersection between climate and health

Reckitt UAE
2pm EET // 11pm AEDT
Watch the livestream here

Energising health: Accelerating electricity access in health-care facilities

World Health Organization
3.30pm EET // 12.30am AEDT (Wed 9 Nov)
Watch the livestream here

Communicating effectively on climate change and health 

Health Canada
5pm EET // 2am AEDT (Wed 9 Nov)
Watch the livestream here

Wed 9 Nov

Cropped out: Farming in an age of food insecurity

New York Times: Climate Forward
10.20am EET // 7.20pm AEDT
Register here

Alliance for Transformative Action on Climate and Health

World Health Organisation
11.30am EET // 8.30pm AEDT
Watch live stream here

Panel: Extreme heat, extreme solutions

New York Times: Climate Forward
11.40am EET // 8.40pm AEDT
Register here

Climate action and psychology: Using psychological science and practice to promote individual and community health

American Psychological Association & Global Psychology Alliance
2pm EET // 11pm AEDT
Watch live stream here

Climate-friendly energy for securing positive health outcomes

World Bank & ESMAP
5pm EET // 2am AEDT (Thu 10 Nov)
Watch live stream here

Thu 10 Nov

CAHA live from COP27

CAHA's Policy and Advocacy Manager, Arthur Wyns will be on the ground at COP27. Join Arthur online to hear about what's going on, and what it means for our health.

Climate and Health Alliance
9am EET // 6pm AEDT
Register here

Urgent action to strengthen climate change education for all health professionals 

The event will highlight the importance of climate change education in building the capacity of health professionals for better preparedness and responses to the climate crisis. Speaking is Amba-Rose Atkinson, a young Gumbaynggirr woman.

World Health Organization & ATACH
10am EET // 7pm AEDT
Live stream will be made available here

From evidence to policy and action: Regional perspectives on response to climate change impacts on health

Lancet Countdown
11.30am EET // 8.30pm AEDT
Live stream will be made available here

US progress in enhancing health system sustainability and resilience at home and abroad

This event will demonstrate US leadership at the nexus of climate and health, including via partnerships underway domestically and internationally. Panellists will describe ways that these initiatives are promoting mitigation and adaptation in the context of both public health and health care. The session will also identify next steps for this vital, life-saving work.

US Department of Health and Human Services, US Department of State and US Agency for International Development
2pm EET // 11pm AEDT
Watch the livestream here

Partnerships beyond the health sector for accelerating the uptake of scientific knowledge

University of Melbourne
2pm EET // 11pm AEDT
Live stream will be made available here

The human right to a healthy environment

YOUNGO Health
3.30pm EET // 12.30am AEDT (Fri 11 Nov)
Live stream will be made available here

Healthy people, healthy planet: Transforming the health care sector

This UNFCCC Futures Labs session will showcase health leaders laying out a vision for how the sector can accelerate concrete actions that reduce emissions while supporting a just transition to a healthier, more equitable, and resilient future.

Health Care Without Harm, in partnership with CAHA, Lung Care Foundation, Doctors for Clean Air, Global Climate and Health Alliance, groundWork, Health & Climate Network , Médecins Sans Frontières, Public Health Foundation of India & WHO
4.30pm EET // 1.30am AEDT (Fri 11 Nov)
Live stream available here

Climate change and health from medical students’ perspective

IFMSA
5pm EET // 2am AEDT (Fri 11 Nov)
Live stream will be made available here

Wildland fires: Planetary and public health solutions

Stanford University & World Health Organization
6.30pm EET // 3.30am AEDT (Fri 11 Nov)
Live stream will be made available here

Utilising expertise of the youth to bridge the science-policy divide and improve access to finance

How can we utilise the expertise of the youth to bridge the science-policy divide and drive climate action? Join this official COP27 side-event to debate barriers and opportunities for youth participation in policymaking.

Association of Commonwealth Universities
6.30pm EET // 3.30am AEDT (Fri 11 Nov)
Register here

Fri 11 Nov

“Climate change is a health emergency” at Devex Conversations

Devex will host a series of provocative conversations on global development and climate change on the sidelines of the COP 27 negotiations in person in Sharm El-Sheik. During this event, journalists will interview Diana Picon Manyari, International Climate Associate Director of Health Care Without Harm, on the climate health emergency.

Devex
Register here

Advancing development of climate resilient and low carbon health systems under the ATACH

Commonwealth Secretariat, Health Canada & ATACH partners
10am EET // 7pm AEDT
Live stream will be made available here

Asthma and allergy: The perfect example for climate change and health outcome

European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology 
11.30am EET // 8.30pm AEDT
Live stream will be made available here

Fuelling health harms: The human costs of fossil fuels

Global Climate & Health Alliance
2pm EET // 11pm AEDT
Watch the livestream here

Leading a healthy response to climate change

Panel discussion: Tackling climate change represents the opportunity to save lives and improve health now through reductions in air pollution, increases in physical activity, improved diets, and better exposure to nature–as well as through the reduction of fossil fuel pollution related health threats. The health sector thus has many reasons to lead a healthy response to climate change. Yet despite the need to connect the dots between fossil fuel extraction and combustion, air and water pollution, and climate change, a health-focused framing of climate work remains as an under-explored opportunity.

Canadian Association of Physicians of the Environment
3.30pm EET // 12.30am AEDT (Sat 12 Nov)
Live stream will be made available here

Transforming health systems through decarbonisation and resilience

Health Care Without Harm, Geneva Sustainability Centre, Médecins Sans Frontières & International Committee of the Red Cross
5pm EET // 2am AEDT (Sat 12 Nov)
Watch the livestream here

Sat 12 Nov

The Global Stock Take: incorporating health metrics to meet the Paris goals

Lancet Countdown
10am EET // 7pm AEDT
Live stream will be made available here

Climate change, migration and health: Strengthening evidence to leave no one behind

IFRC, WHO, IOM, UHC2030 CSEM, WACI Health
11.30am EET // 8.30pm AEDT
Live stream will be made available here

Integrating nutrition and food security in Nationally Determined Contributions

United Nations University - EHS; Ministry of health, Haifa University
2pm EET // 11pm AEDT
Live stream will be made available here

Food for health and sustainability from the youth perspective

IFMSA
3.30pm EET // 12.30am AEDT (Sun 13 Nov)
Live stream will be made available here

Mon 14 Nov

CAHA live from COP27

CAHA's Policy and Advocacy Manager, Arthur Wyns will be on the ground at COP27. Join Arthur online to hear about what's going on, and what it means for our health.

Climate and Health Alliance
9am EET // 6pm AEDT
Register here

“Planetary health: Protecting lives and the environment” at the Make Climate Action Everyone’s Business Forum

The Make Climate Action Everyone’s Business Forum is a hybrid event broadcasted from the COP27 Blue Zone. Gary Cohen, co-founder and president of Health Care Without Harm, will be a speaker at "Planetary health: Protecting lives and the environment" session at 6pm EET.

ICC-APCO
6pm EET // 3am AEDT (Tue 15 Nov)
Register for the virtual conference here

Tue 15 Nov

The health-methane nexus: Opportunities for action

World Health Organization
10am EET // 7pm AEDT
Watch live stream here

Stay in touch with our community